HCV-Housing Choice Vouchers Program

Housing Choice Voucher Program

 

HCV Department

 

Monique Brown ext. *625# Senior Housing Assistant Tech - moniqueb@hap-nj.org

Keshin Pollard ext. *888# Clerk

Barry Person ext. *626# Senior Housing Inspector - Barryp@hap-nj.org
Timothy Anderson ext. *622# Tenant Interviewer - timothya@hap-nj.org
Veronica Smith ext. *624# Tenant Interviewer - veronicas@hap-nj.org

Clyde Hare ext. *606# FSS Coordinator - Chare@hap-nj.org
Vanessa Hollard ext. *630# Shelter Based Plus Coordinator -vanessah@hap-nj.org
 

 

Please note, applications are not being accepted at this time.

 

Housing Choice Voucher Program

 

The HCV Housing Assistance Payments Program has proven to be the most sought after rental assistance program nationwide. In providing rental subsidy to very low­ income families, the Housing Authority Plainfield uses guidelines, income limits and regulations as set forth by the Department of Housing and Urban Development.  Tenant based vouchers increase affordable housing choices for very low-income families. Families with a tenant-based voucher choose and lease safe, decent, and affordable privately-owned rental housing.

 

Prior to admissions, all eligible applicants are interviewed individually and then are required to attend a “group” Orientation Seminar that reviews the rules and regulations of the program. All participants sign a one-year lease that can be renewed on an annual basis.

 

Any property owner/manager/agent interested in participating in the HCV Program is invited to contact the Housing Authority Plainfield to obtain more specific information. In order to be considered, all units must meet Housing Quality Standards as set forth by HUD. The Housing Authority conducts an initial inspection of each unit and conducts annual inspections thereafter.  All rental units are also required to pass all local housing codes and have a Certificate of Occupancy (occupancy permit) as issued by the City of Plainfield. Rentals considered include: single-family dwellings, duplexes, garden apartments, low/high-rise or townhouse units. All units must meet rent reasonableness and comparability to unassisted units in the area.


 

PLAINFIELD SECTION 8

25 MAR

12:00 am - Opening of Waiting List Applications

07 APR

11:59 pm - Closing of Waiting List Applications

APPROX WAITING TIME

7 years